Foreign language garbled text

Questions and information about creating Internet aware NeoBook applications. Including PHP, HTML, FTP, HTTP, Email, etc.

Moderator: Neosoft Support

fkapnist

Foreign language garbled text

Post by fkapnist »

Using Neobook to display the metadata title and description of pages in foreign languages such as Greek or Russian...

In picture 1, I have the correct text as it should appear.

In picture 2, I have the character codes.

In picture 3, I have garbled text with ?? marks.

I am not a programmer. But it seems to me that it is possible to display foreign languages, as picture 1 proves.

I think it is a matter of converting a text string to Unicode, ascii or Ansi before displaying it. But I haven't figured out yet how it should be done. Does anyone have any suggestions? It would be nice to see a plugin for this....

:oops:

I am afraid when users see garbled text they may think it is an error that could damage their system, and they will stop using the program...
It also looks pretty bad. (The Euro-zone has over a dozen languages.)
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team

Re: Foreign language garbled text

Post by Neosoft Support »

None of your pictures are displaying, but NeoBook objects cannot display most Asian and Middle Eastern characters. The exception is the WebBrowser object which should be able to display them under most circumstances.
NeoSoft Support
fkapnist

Post by fkapnist »

Neosoft Support wrote:None of your pictures are displaying, but NeoBook objects cannot display most Asian and Middle Eastern characters. The exception is the WebBrowser object which should be able to display them under most circumstances.

This support forum has changed servers? My image size info says 0 but it is actually 53kb. http://verticalbrowser.com/ads/txt-forerign.jpg
I am also repeatedly thrown out of the forum and asked to login over and over again ...

--------------------