NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

General questions about NeoAppBuilder - our rapid application development tool for building HTML5, web and mobile apps.

Moderator: Neosoft Support

Locked
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
Posts: 5628
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA
Contact:

NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by Neosoft Support »

An update to the NeoAppBuilder Beta is available for download below:

http://www.neosoftware.com/neoappbuilder.html

This update includes the following changes:

 Added Numeric and Password input objects.
 Added a Form object. (See the FormSubmit example in the Sample Apps folder for usage instructions.)
 Added an iFrame object.
 Added a number of additional properties to several objects.
 The compiler now provides detailed information about errors in NeoScript code including the location of the error and option to edit the problem code.
 Added a Refresh action used to update the screen during loops, etc.
 Added FocusObject action.
 Added SetObjectHTML action used to set an object’s inner HTML content.
 Corrected problems with appearance of auto-sized apps on mobile devices. (Needs testing on different devices.)
 Fixed the Delay action.
 The property editor will now automatically add a “px” or “%” suffix to numbers when appropriate.
 Added option to center content horizontally in window (App Properties > Size).
 The run/debug screen can now be closed when the browser is executing a long or infinite loop.
 The HTML caption/text editor now correctly handles Unicode characters.
 The property editor’s column widths are now saved between sessions.
 The translation editor now saves new or modified language files (*.lang) to the user’s documents folder. Previously, the language editor attempted to save lang files to the AppData folder which some versions of Windows do not allow.
 The keyboard arrow keys can now be used to move objects in design mode.
 Standard shortcuts for cut, copy, paste, undo and redo are now supported.
 Corrected a problem with the Configure Tools screen that caused an “index out of bounds” error to appear under certain circumstances.
 And numerous other minor enhancements, bug fixes, etc.
NeoSoft Support
schmutly
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:16 pm

Re: NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by schmutly »

Thanks Dave for the great update :)
And for the Submit example..some Ahh moments when i saw that. :D
So, as this is beta, eventually in the IsVarEmpty action example there will be a
drop-down, like neobook, to access the created variables to save typing? Im assuming so
and..yeah, betas looking great.
Thanks,
Rob

EDIT:
Sorry forgot to ask, are we able to see this PHP file or can you put the code here? I'm just trying to see how its
sending the response BACK to the container1 object..I'd like to get my head around what that shows in the PHP
file. :?:
Ahh...saw it in the success TAB down bottom, tabs were a little small on m large screen (or im getting old :P)
SetObjectHTML: Set HTML content (inner HTML) of an object.
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
Posts: 5628
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by Neosoft Support »

So, as this is beta, eventually in the IsVarEmpty action example there will be a drop-down, like neobook, to access the created variables to save typing?
Yes.
Sorry forgot to ask, are we able to see this PHP file or can you put the code here?
I meant to include a copy of the php file with the update. Here it is:

[syntax=php]<?php
//Header required when app and php are of different origins
header("Access-Control-Allow-Origin: *");

if ($_SERVER["REQUEST_METHOD"] === "POST") {
if (isset($_POST["firstName"]) && isset($_POST["lastName"])) {
// Correct form submission
$result = "DATA RECEIVED BY SERVER:" .
"<br />First Name = " . $_POST["firstName"] .
"<br />Last Name = " . $_POST["lastName"] .
"<br />Age = " . $_POST["age"] .
"<br />Gender = " . $_POST["gender"];
} else {
$result = "INVALID REQUEST DATA";
}
} else {
$result = "INVALID REQUEST DATA";
}
echo $result;
?>[/syntax]
NeoSoft Support
Luiz Alfredo
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:58 am
Location: Brazil

Re: NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by Luiz Alfredo »

Great. Thanks.
L.A.G.M.
User avatar
luishp
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 10:17 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by luishp »

Great update!! Thank you!!

Is it possible to submit a form without using the Form Submit Button? (programatically)
Thanks!!
Luis Hernández - SinLios Soluciones Digitales
http://sinlios.com
User avatar
PaulTomo
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:15 am
Location: UK

Re: NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by PaulTomo »

Just installed the NeoAppBuilder Beta Test update but now I appear to be locked out of the beta software!

Image

I've uninstalled and re-installed but still get the same message.
impulsmedia
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 9:01 am
Location: GERMANY
Contact:

Re: NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by impulsmedia »

Hello,
I get the same error like PaulTomo. OS = WIN 8.1pro. Thanks for help!
thanks in advance and greetings from Germany,
Walter
User avatar
Gaev
Posts: 3782
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by Gaev »

luishp:
Is it possible to submit a form without using the Form Submit Button? (programatically)
1) You can use ...

Code: Select all

$.post(URL,data,function(data,status,xhr),dataType)
... to post any key/value pairs to any website that will accept "form data" ... see http://www.w3schools.com/jquery/ajax_post.asp for more information.

2) If you were thinking of using the rest of NeoAppBuilder's "Form UI" to get the user to enter data in gadgets, I think it is also possible ... as each "input gadget" has an associated property called "variable" ... so in theory, you can pick up those values in a "trigger other than the Submit button" ... and compose them in the $.post() command ... ... warning: I have not tried this yet.

@Dave:

Related Question ...

1) the Form gadget has a property called "action" ... in your Sample App, it points to the server ... http://www.neosoftware.com/apps/neoapptest.php ... I get that.

2) In the "Submit" button, there is a property named "link/href" ... in your Sample App, it is blank ... what is it supposed to do ?
User avatar
PaulTomo
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:15 am
Location: UK

Re: NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by PaulTomo »

I have managed to get the new NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19) to run now by doing a system restore to a few weeks ago.

There are some differences that result in error's when run in debugger SetAttribute for one has changed.

Code: Select all

Was:
SetAttribute #PushButton16 "visibility" "hidden"
Now:
SetAttribute "PushButton16" "visibility" "hidden"
Okay easily fixed by removing the # and adding ""

Container HTML that did work fine now no longer does. I was using this to display a web image loaded from a function.

Code: Select all

HTML Part:
<style>div {width: 330px; height: 250px;}</style><div id="myDiv"></div>
JavaScript Part:
BeginJS
myFunction()
function myFunction() {    document.getElementById("myDiv").style.backgroundImage = "url('http://MyWebAddress/Pictures/"+$rootScope.Picture+".jpg')";}
EndJS
When I compare the old Index.html file to the new, the container is there but not the HTML code, it seems to have dropped it.
Original:
<p id="Paragraph36" >[Other]</p>
<div id="Container9"><style>div {width: 330px; height: 250px;}</style><div id="myDiv"></div>
</div>
<p id="Paragraph37" >[Intro]</p>

New:
<p id="Paragraph36">[Other]</p>
<div id="Container9">
</div>
<p id="Paragraph37">[Intro]</p>
I'm getting other error's too but these may be due to other changes I've not managed to find yet.

The main problem is that now the only place I can get the test app's or the parts that will still run, to run is within the NeoAppBuilder debug screen. If compiled as web, in IExplore, Crome and Firefox they fail with a white screen. Also if complied as Android and the apk file is uploaded to the phone, now there is just a white screen and the app fails to run.

I have also noted this before and and it does not look like it has been fixed yet. When the zip file for PhoneGap upload is created, the config add's the path for the icon incorrectly.
<icon src="img/myimage.png" width="128" height="128" />
When it should be:
<icon src="myimage.png" width="128" height="128" />
If I find any more obvious changes I'll report.
User avatar
PaulTomo
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:15 am
Location: UK

Re: NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by PaulTomo »

Was working, had NeoAppBuilder freeze but I'm now locked out again with the beta expired message following a restart!

Gets me away from the computer for the rest of the day I guess?
User avatar
Gaev
Posts: 3782
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by Gaev »

PaulTomo:
Container HTML that did work fine now no longer does.
I did not have a Container with "HTML" or "Click Event" code before ... so I created one and tried your code ... I found that when I run the App in Firefox ...

a) any value placed in the "html" property does not show at all.

b) code in the "click" and "double click" events is not serviced.


However, when I ...

a) set the Container's "id" property to "myDiv"

b) place code like yours in the "click" event of a "PushButton"

... it is serviced as expected.


Hope this helps you (and Dave).


Sorry you are having post-installation issues ... on my XP machine, it installed without a hitch and (as far as I can tell) everything works as before.
User avatar
luishp
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 10:17 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by luishp »

My copy of NeoAppBuilder does not work anymore
The pre-release version has expired :(
Luis Hernández - SinLios Soluciones Digitales
http://sinlios.com
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
Posts: 5628
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by Neosoft Support »

Sorry for the confusion/frustration.

The betas are programmed to expire on a certain date to prevent them from floating around on the Internet forever. This update was supposed to reset the expiration date into the future, but it appears that it's not working correctly. This problem is being worked on now and we should be able to release a fix later today.
NeoSoft Support
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
Posts: 5628
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: NeoAppBuilder Beta Test (Update 15.2.19)

Post by Neosoft Support »

Please download the version 15.2.21 update:

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=20973
NeoSoft Support
Locked