Temp directory redireting to Desktop

Questions about our File Management and Internet FTP plug-in
Locked
DaveJ
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:06 am

Temp directory redireting to Desktop

Post by DaveJ »

I have a very strange fault where I have created a pub that copies data from a network location to a folder within the temp directory as below.

Code: Select all

fmConnectLocal "remote" "InitialPath=\\remotedriveshare\Workshop\Barcode"
fmConnectLocal "local1" "InitialPath=[Tempdir]Barcode"
Setvar "status" "Loading"
fmSelectAll "remote" "IncludeFiles=Yes;IncludeFolders=No"
Setvar "status" "Copying to temp"
fmCopySelected "remote" "local1" "GetConfirmation=Yes;ShowProgress=Yes;AllowResume=No"
Setvar "status" "Done"
Delay "1000"
Run "[TempDir]Barcode\BMS11.exe" "" "LoadComplete" "" ""
Exit "" ""
Every time I try and run this, it shows the local directory to be the desktop and the remote directory.

These are the variable saved;
LastError=The system cannot find the file specified
local1.CurrentDir=C:\Users\David.Jarrard\Desktop
local1.FileMask=*.*
local1.Status=Connected
local1.TotalItems=63
remote.CurrentDir=C:\Users\David.Jarrard\Desktop
remote.FileMask=*.*
remote.SelCount=0
remote.Status=Connected
remote.TotalItems=63
status=Done
How can I fix this?

Thanks

Dave J
User avatar
Gaev
Posts: 3782
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: Temp directory redireting to Desktop

Post by Gaev »

Dave J:

I tried the sample that came with the plugin ... and modified it to connect to [TempDir] ... and it popped up a message telling me that it could not connect to that folder ... tried another folder and it worked fine.

Because the fmConnectLocal command failed, the plugin defaulted to my Desktop folder.

If you did not see an error message, check whether you have turned OFF the showing of errors (e.g. fmShowErrors "No").
DaveJ
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:06 am

Re: Temp directory redireting to Desktop

Post by DaveJ »

Thanks Gaev,
I haven't turned off errors but that sounds like the issue.
It doesn't explain why however the plugin cant use the temp directory. Most other programs use the temp directory and I also did an xcopy command to do the copy and it worked ok.
It just seems to be an issue with the plugin!

Dave J
User avatar
Gaev
Posts: 3782
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:48 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: Temp directory redireting to Desktop

Post by Gaev »

Dave J:
It doesn't explain why however the plugin cant use the temp directory. Most other programs use the temp directory and I also did an xcopy command to do the copy and it worked ok.
It just seems to be an issue with the plugin!
It might have something to do with combination of Protocol and File Access Rights ... you/user would have full access rights when using File protocol but (perhaps) not FTP.
DaveJ
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:06 am

Re: Temp directory redireting to Desktop

Post by DaveJ »

Hi Gaev,
Would me as the user not have the same rights as when I execute the xcopy command within a dos prompt.
Im using the file management and not FTP so would have thought it would work.
I think I will need to put in a request to Neosoft unless Dave is already reading this.

DaveJ
DaveJ
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:06 am

Re: Temp directory redireting to Desktop

Post by DaveJ »

Just to add another bit of info. if I

Code: Select all

CreateFolder "[tempdir]barcode2"
it creates a folder ok in the temp directory so its not a Neobook permissions issue.
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
Posts: 5628
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: Temp directory redireting to Desktop

Post by Neosoft Support »

Here's what's happening: The Temp folder is a hidden directory. Like Windows Explorer, FM/FTP default setting is to not show hidden folders. Since the Temp folder is hidden you can't navigate to it. To rectify this problem you need to tell FM/FTP to show hidden files, before navigating to the Temp folder. For example:

Code: Select all

fmConnectLocal "local1" ""
fmSetFileBrowserProperties "Local1" "ShowHiddenFiles=Yes"
fmChangeDir "Local1" "[TempDir]Barcode"
...
NeoSoft Support
DaveJ
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:06 am

Re: Temp directory redireting to Desktop

Post by DaveJ »

Thanks Dave, I would never have got that on my own.
It still leaves me with a slight problem that the plug-in doesn't seem to support UNC paths.
It seems that the only way is to create a mapped drives and the possibility it could clash with another mapped drive.
So that I can easily update my program without going to every machine and reinstalling the application, I make a directory on my server containing all my required files. This is then copied to the temporary directory on the local machine via its UNC path and then the main program file is run from the temp folder. When the program terminates it deletes the directory.

I don't really want to create a permanent mapped drive so I may have to rethink the concept.

Dave J
Neosoft Support
NeoSoft Team
Posts: 5628
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: Temp directory redireting to Desktop

Post by Neosoft Support »

No FM/FTP won't work with UNC paths. Maybe this is something we can address in the future.
NeoSoft Support
Locked