A possible plugin for basic Serial Communications purposes

Using NeoBook to control external hardware and devices.

Moderator: Neosoft Support

dec

A possible plugin for basic Serial Communications purposes

Post by dec »

Hello to all,

More than never I need your help in order to test the first alpha version of a possible plugin for basic Serial Communications purposes. Currently you can open, close, set options, read and write strings to an specific COM port. I need your help in order to test the plugin and tell me what do you need in order to enhance it. It's my intention to add other actions like to get the options and set several COM port "flags", but certainly I do not want to go ahead before this plugin alpha release are well tested and demostrate their capabilities.

Remember I am not an expert in Serial Communications and only count with very limited (in my opinion) COM emulators. But some of my best customers want a plugin like that and therefore I want to at the least try to develop it, basically follow the interface provided by the widely used "Synopse ComPort" component for Delphi. Sorry if finally we cannot get something working. It's not the first time I start a plugin development and, for some reason, I become obligated to abandon their development. But this is the first time I publish an alpha release in order to obtain your feedback before continue or finally stop the development.

Any idea, question, comment, error report, etc., are very welcome (and really needed), so don't hesitate to write here your test results and anything else that you think can help us. Note the plugin do not have any help at this time, but I hope the actions are explained itself at this moment. Take a look specially at the "npCompSetOptions", since you can set here several options which can be of your interest.

You can download the first alpha version of npComp from the bellow link:

http://www.neoplugins.com/temp/npComp.zip